Flan de Leche

Flan de Leche

Some people who will remain nameless think that flan tastes like boogers – ya’ll crazy! 

Flan is a high protein, high sugar dessert that eventually came to Latin America via Spain, but honesty flan is as old as Rome! And for good reason, it’s yummy!

Knowing that my Cuban Tía & her daughters are coming to lunch last night I decided – last minute – that I needed to have a dessert to give them when they come for lunch. It wasn’t enough that I made Ropa Vieja, I needed something sweet. Now as you know I’ve long since given up sweets. I am always looking for high protein snacks and desserts, but as my mother pointed out last night, just because I choose to follow a strict diet, that doesn’t mean others have to do the same. 

So I took out the Cocina Criolla cookbook my Abuela gave me & I proceeded to look for a flan recipe that wasn’t excessively sugary, but still good. I’ve translated it below for you: 

Ingredients:

  • 6 egg yolks 
  • 3 egg whites
  • 3/4 cup sugar 
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups milk 
  • Hint of lime zest 
  • Optional: melt down 1/3 sugar to make caramel topping

What you do: 

  1. Boil the milk, salt, cinnamon stick & hint of lime zest.
  2. Set aside, let cool. 
  3. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. 
  4. Separate the egg yolks from the egg whites. 
  5. Gently whisk the 6 yolks with 3 eggs, gently adding sugar, and the cooled milk mixture. 
  6. *If you have made the caramel, pour into the molde, let cool completely.
  7. Pour the egg and milk mixture into the molde. 
  8. Place the molde in a water bath.
  9. Carefully place the water bath on the oven. Heat for one hour.
  10. Take flan out of the oven & chill in the refrigerator at least 4 hrs. 

Serves 6 (actually if using proper portion control serves 12). 

Not my prettiest but still yummy!
Leave a Reply

