Sewing 

Sewing 

Well once upon a time I was fascinated with sewing. When I was 11 I had a sewing class by a lovely old lady. My class was always really disrespectful to her but she was kind anyway, she never let us sew anything that made us look rediculous. Timeless fashion was her muse. One thing I’ll always remember is my parents wouldn’t let met wear flared jeans (“you’re not a hippy & you don’t understand what that movement was about”) so I wanted to make my own! Well the lovely old home economics teacher said denim was too difficult for a beginner. So I made flannel pajama shorts. Those were literally the best pajama shorts ever. It may sound gross but since I made them loose, I wore them throughout high school. 

Two years later, at a different school with a less insightful teacher, I took another home economics course. My efforts were not so successful. I wanted to make trendy form fitting capris but I made heavy, shapeless culottes! Since I paid for the fabric myself from babysitting money, I wore the pants all summer. They were dreadful. 

Now a days I’m wondering, do I remember how to read a pattern? When I was pregnant with my daughter I dusted off my Singer sewing machine. I bought cute fabric and I made pillows. So many pillows my husband is now anti-pillows (really one can never have too many, we just need a bigger bed)! 

I’d like to make some dresses for myself and my little girl, but I’m wondering, I’ve only ever made pants, do I have the skills necessary to make a few dresses? 

Leave a Reply

