Ropa Vieja on a slow cooker

Ropa Vieja on a slow cooker

Ropa Vieja
 Although I’m a weekday vegetarian, I remember my Cuban paternal grandmother always used to make Ropa Vieja and no one had the recipe. One day  in 2008, I sent her an email asking her to send me the recipe. She sent me a cookbook instead. At the time I was so offended I didn’t even open the cookbook. I wanted a family recipe, not some generic cookbook – in Spanish no less. During hurricane Matthew in 2016, I pulled out this cookbook. What I found really surprised me. Instead of simply sending a generic cookbook, my grandmother had sent me a cookbook but she had highlighted and written notes in the margins of different recipes! In effect she had sent me a cookbook but she had made but had put her own personal touches on it. From this experience I learned two things:

A.) Do not rush to be angry.

B.) Don’t shun a gift just because you don’t like how it was delivered.

I’m sure for those of us used to seeing thing in a spiritual light, there’s something to be learned there too. Anyway, I thought I would share the recipe below! And lucky for you, I put it in English! 

  • Slow cook six hours on high
  • One can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 a teaspoon cinnamon
  • Three garlic cloves, sliced
  • 2 large green peppers, sliced
  • 1 medium onion cut in half and sliced
  • 1 three pound beef brisket
  • Brown rice to accompany 

Ok so what you do:

  1. In your slow cooker pot, combine tomatoes, cumin, cinnamon and salt. Add garlic peppers onion and brisket. Stir to coat brisket. Cover slow cooker with the lid and cook on high for six hours.
  2. Transfer brisket and veggies to a large bowl. Add to forks, shredded brisket along the green into find strips. Stir cooking liquid into brisket mixture.
  3. Serve over rice.

Makes 8 servings. 

Leave a Reply

